Adventures in Online Learning Part 1: Calligraphic Script

Do you remember years ago when everybody was making scrapbooks?

Yeah, I know.

I was cleaning out my closet last weekend and re-discovered my box of stencils.

Stencils.

Don’t worry, they’re gone now. Somebody under age six will be thrilled to see what mom found in aisle three at Salvation Army.

But I was thinking about how much I enjoyed making art with paper. Some of it has rightfully found its final home in a landfill, but some of it wasn’t half bad. I made Valentine’s Day cards once that were a big hit with my friends. They were almost, you know, cool. I’m not too bad at cutting up paper and gluing it together.

That is, they looked cool until I had to write on them.

My handwriting isn’t bad, but it isn’t anything to brag about, either.

IMG_0201

…and that is about as fancy as it gets.

But wouldn’t it be grand to be able to do something like this?

53a810207c1a0
Wisdom by Ian Barnard

Beautiful, right? I would never have to buy a thank you note again. I would merely touch pen to paper and beautiful works of art would magically appear. Or at least something presentable.

The trick? Because this is a project for a class about technology and learning, I need to learn everything using only online sources.

This is my plan:

  1. Look at stuff on Pinterest.
  2. Read some blogs and watch some tutorials on YouTube.
  3. Start with something small, like a birthday card for a baby who can’t read.
  4. Troubleshoot and connect in one or two forums.
  5. Try something else, maybe a letter or a note to someone who thinks I am cute and won’t judge me.
  6. Maybe try out a few different styles.
  7. Eventually work up to something I can frame. Maybe part of a poem?

I already have paper and pens, some of it leftover from those long-ago days when I had free time and printed photographs to work with.

IMG_0200
Supplies, etc.

I even have a fountain pen that I bought on a whim one day. Because that is what people sometimes do. Right?

Right?

Okay, so I guess that is just me. But hey, maybe it will come in handy for this project. Make sure to tune in next week for Adventures in Online Learning Part 2!

2 thoughts on “Adventures in Online Learning Part 1: Calligraphic Script”

Leave a Reply

