DreamIT Part IV

Assessment

In order to measure the impact of this new technology in my classroom, I can use a variety of assessments. One assessment will be of the linguistic quality of each students’ work. By working with students as they plan and produce their videos, I will be able to give them formative feedback on their works-in-progress. Then, when the videos are published, I will be able to summatively assess my students on the quality of the ideas expressed, their pronunciation and fluency, and the control of grammar and their use of the appropriate vocabulary.  I will assess these factors in a variety of modes, including the presentational speaking video, the presentational writing of the text, and the interpersonal writing of their comments.

Another important aspect of this project will be to gauge students’ digital skills. To do this, I will look at several components of digital literacy. One aspect is students’ technical skills in the completion of the project. Were they able to plan and produce a quality video? Was the video published correctly? How well did they plan and problem-solve throughout their process? The aesthetics of the project are another important digital literacy. This includes how well did students format their published their work, and if it is well-organized and aesthetically appealing. A third skill is students’ ability to integrate multiple forms of media. Did they use imagery, text, sound and video in a cohesive manner that supports their work? Safety and appropriateness are another digital skill that I will assess. This includes using appropriate language, demonstrating knowledge of cultural norms, and discretion in revealing personal information. And finally, how creative is the work? I will be looking to see if students expressed an original idea, if they presented it in a compelling manner, and if they were able to convey their sense of humor and personality in the final product.

My other objectives are less concrete, and will require extended time to assess. For example, I wish for my students to make connections between the content they are learning in the classroom and its real-world use. One possibility is that I could give them a formal survey inquiring as to how useful they perceive Spanish to be. However, I think that the true product of this lesson, if learned well, will develop in the attitudes and the motivation of my students to learn Spanish. I hope to hear fewer remarks along the lines of, “Why do we have to learn Spanish?” and more remarks of students noticing Spanish websites, signs, and Spanish speakers in public spaces. I would also hope to see an increased willingness to engage in Spanish in the classroom. I would like to see them speak with less fear of making mistakes or working through challenges, and more willingness and subsequently more skill in negotiating meaning using the words and patterns that they know to communicate the ideas of their own (and not only the ones that I tell them to say).

Leave a Reply

